Many new faces have been elected to local Councils as a major rebuff to the NSW Liberal Coalition State Government of Gladys Berejiklian.

No Councils in TWT territory will be dominated by the out of favour Liberal Party and none will have a Liberal mayor unlike before the September 9 Local  Government elections when the mayors of Ryde and Lane Cove were both Liberal Party endorsed members.

Those two Liberal mayors the irrational Colonel Pickering in Ryde and the demure Deborah Hutchens in Lane Cove contributed to the Liberals poor showings in the polls. See details inside.

Independent Mark Bennett has been elected mayor of Hunters Hill by popular vote over Liberal contender Zac Miles and Angelo Tsirekas has been elected mayor of Canada Bay.

Independent Pam Palmer is favoured to win Mayoral honours in Lane Cove where she blitzed the field and topped the poll in East Ward and Andrew Zbik has become the first Labor Councillor at Lane Cove in 70 years.

Three candidates may contest Ryde’s mayoral election namely Labor’s Jerome Laxale with four seats and possible support of two Greens, Liberal Sarkis Yedelian with four seats and Independent and a past mayor Roy Maggio.

Former federal MP Philip Ruddock has been elected mayor of Hornsby in a surprise move by the Liberal Party who rejected sitting Liberal mayor ??? Russell.